"Fact of the Week"

What is a District?


The Isle of Wight Council has divided the Island into six main districts for the purposes of delivering the highway services under this contract. We will be improving the highways, footways, bridges and lighting in all six districts to ensure they are all brought up to the modern standards at the same time. Therefore, no one part of the Island will have preference over another and all areas will be treated equally.

District 1 - Cowes

District 2 - Newport

District 3 - Ryde

District 4 - Sandown & Shanklin

District 5 - Ventnor

District 6 - Yarmouth and West Wight

District Stewards manage works in each of these areas and establish a close working relationship within local communities.




Click here to view our current works programme 
Click here to view current road restrictions/closures

22 May

Reminder: Marshcombe Shute safety barrier works and surfacing to commence next week

Residents and local businesses are being reminded that works to install permanent safety barriers at Marshcombe Shute are to begin next Tuesday 26th May. more >

8 May

Final road improvements underway ahead of Pearl Izumi Tour Series Race

The final phase of planned work to ensure the streets of Ryde are able to host the Pearl Izumi Tour Series cycle race are to be undertaken early next week. more >

6 May

Ryde community thanked as road upgrade works are completed

Island Roads has thanked the Ryde community for its patience and assistance during work to upgrade busy Cross Street. more >

Works in your district

Works in your district

Enter your road name or postcode and see what works are planned.

This website may use cookies to provide an improved experience. You can refuse these cookies by changing your browser settings.
To remove this message, click here to accept cookies.